What is #TGDN ?


zippered mouth

A new hashtag was born today on twitter : #TGDN. It stands for Twitter Gulag Defense Network and is the brainchild of twitter user @ToddKincannon.

TGDN is a response to the speech-silencing efforts of any who happen to know about the suspension algorithm exploit that exists on Twitter. For those unfamiliar with Twitter Gulag, it’s essentially a way people discovered to suspend accounts by tricking Twitter’s systems into thinking live profiles are actually spambot profiles.

For all intents and purposes, Twitter Gulag works because of HOW people tweet, and not WHAT people tweet. So, there isn’t a person on the other end of a computer somewhere, reviewing individual tweets to determine if someone is worthy of suspension. Instead, it’s a computer that takes care of the job, and like all computers, it CAN be fooled.

One of the parts of the suspension algorithm has to deal with (most of us think so, anyway) a profile’s following/follower count. When you look at an actual spambot profile, you’ll notice that often times, the profile will have a hugely disproportionate number of follows, as opposed to followers. Because, most people will realize it’s a spambot and won’t follow back.

For a lot of actual Twitter users, their profiles will look like this too, especially if they’re a new account and trying to find their footing in whatever community they want to be a part of on Twitter.  And how do you get more people to follow you? By engaging in conversations, often times with multiple people on a given thread.

So, between those two facts (out of whack on follows/followers and engaging in conversations with “strangers” if you will) the computer can be fooled into thinking a live profile is indeed a spam profile.

Enter #TGDN.

The idea behind TGDN is to create a massive networking movement, where people reciprocate with follows, in order to boost each others followers counts. If enough people do this, the hope is that a large swath of Twitter users, new AND old, can be insulated as best as possible from Twitter Gulag and the suspension exploit.

One thing that should be noted, though, is that there is another suspension algorithm for “aggressive follows”. So anyone participating in #TGDN should be aware that if you follow too many too fast, your profile has the potential of being suspended. I recommend trying to stay as even as possible, so your follow/follower count is one to one or as close as possible to that ratio as you can get.

From the response today (I’ve picked up hundreds of followers already) it appears that the Gulag soldiers have been out in force again lately, and that people are eager and willing to join this new iteration of conservative/libertarian political activism on Twitter.

Keep up the good work everybody, and welcome aboard!

 

34 Responses to “What is #TGDN ?”

  1. The ironical thing is that Todd has publicly called for his 30k+ followers to spam block other Twitter accounts, for the purpose of sending those targeted accounts to the Gulag. Then he starts a defense network? DerpLulz!

    • yes indeed. and one of those requests was to suspend @MyDadMolestsMe , which was using the image of my friend and his 19-month-old daughter. However, Kathleen was so blinded by her rage and hatred of Todd she didn’t take the time to look at what the fucking profile was. Sooo…

      • Well, it appears he did a good thing there. But, when he sends 30k+ followers to spamblock about a dozen other accounts, simply for pointing out things he’s done that aren’t so righteous, I’m inclined to call BS. The idea is a good one, but its originator is a gigantic hypocrite.

      • I think Kathleen has a right to be po’d as he has been attempting to get her and other random people spam blocked. Because he finds one or two worthy ones doesn’t make the errors okay.

        It seems that the liberals are not the only ones who have blind followers.

      • Kathleen Sweets Says:

        Its not a matter of hatred! There’s no need for multiple ppl to spam block even if the account is spam! When #TunTavernPatriots made “parody” account of me (@kathleensweats) did I order a so-called hit? No I did not! If Todd felt an account was spam he could have spammed it! Didn’t need to order 35,000 others too! #CheapShot

    • Sorry, most people he calls to be gulaged are not people he disagrees with. They are known accounts that trick new users into engaging them to set off the spam/block gulag trick. Or just some really nasty people. I have seen him debate for hours with people that disagree with him. You are ill informed or just one of the numorous “Katheen Sweets” accounts. I have yet to see him call out his followers to spam block accounts that disagree with him.

      • KDV, I hate to disagree with you but I follow Todd and I joined #TDGN because of him. His idea seems a good one since I spent time in Twitter Gulag. I like him as much as I like most conservatives on Twitter. He seems like a nice guy. However, I spam blocked Kathleen Sweets account at his urging. His comment was that the user (Kathleen) is one of the people that sends conservatives to TG. I should have taken his suggestion with a grain of salt (not because of him being “Todd” but because I do not know him IRL nor do I know Kathleen) but unfortunately I did not. Following some tweets back and forth between Todd’s camp and Kathleen’s camp, I came to realize that basically him and Kathleen do not see eye to eye. I looked through her tweets and I never saw proof of her asking others to spam block Todd, while Todd did just that. Sorry, Todd, but it’s true. I don’t think less of him because of it and I will continue to support him until I will be forced not to anymore. I just think that Todd and Kathleen need to find some common ground and patch things up. They both, basically, want the same things for our country and they are wasting precious resources on silly disputes. Now, saying that,I do owe an apology to Kathleen which I intend to do next on Twitter. I unblocked her immediately, once I figured out that the entire thing was just a petty dispute but less alone I feel bad because I falsely reported her and hopefully no real damage came from that. She was the innocent party and was falsely accused as the reason of conservatives being sent to TG. So that’s that. Other than that, keep on fighting!

      • After the last few days of watching Conservatives call for other Conservatives to be suspended I retract anything nice I said. This is turning into a cult of personality for Todd and a purity test for some Conservatives. I am ashamed that I defended it however the “Kathleen Sweets” crowd is just as bad if not worse. I’ve been suspended by that group several times.

  2. I’ve hit follow limits, but never had problems due to following a lot. Is this because I gave up a cel phone number, and validated that I’m a real live person?

  3. Reblogged this on TwitterGulag and commented:
    Jan 6, 2013 #TGDN A date which will live in O bot infamy!

  4. It’s not ironic if your side is playing catch up to a Twitter #WAR of attrition by digital brown shirts. Adapt or your thought dies off. We all know not to be the first mention anymore… #TGDN may make some less timid now – Twitter- it’s a walled off echo chamber for #p2 thought and not to socialize contrary ideas. – just as Twitter intends.

  5. Todd mistakenly requested spam blocks of 2of my accounts even though I was a SUPPORTER of his. In fact, one of my accounts was actually my DOG’S account, created to interact with other animal accounts and animal rights activists. If Todd would actually THINK and PAY ATTENTION before he calls for a spam block, it would be helpful. Furthermore, many of his followers simply RT his BS without even bothering to look at the accounts he’s calling to spam block in order to make their own determination as to whether or not the account is a fake. Anyone who would have taken the time to read my dog’s bio and a few of “her” tweets would easily determine that the account was not fake, nor was it even POLITICAL in nature. Needless to say, I am no longer a fan of Kincannon or his followers, many of whom really are sheep just doing whatever their “shepherd” tells them to do.

  6. obamamamadingdong Says:

    Each time Todd requested spam block I would look to see “why”. Most times it was warranted. He dishes out some craps but he puts up with MORE BULLSHIT than most of US could handle. I think this is a great effort 4 cons to back each other when under constant attack. Progs r finally seeing their own tactics used AGAINST THEM but without cons constantly SCREAMING ” RACIST!!!”

  7. I support you guys, but decided not to join the list. I want people to follow me because they wish to, not because they need a follow back to improve their follower numbers. I used the lists as a way to find a lot of new fellow conservatives, so I’m thankful for that.

  8. Thanks for the feedback everyone! I am well aware of some of the issues that exist out there within conservative circles on Twitter, but felt this was worth of a write-up because it certainly has hit a chord with many. Regardless, any effort that unifies us at this time when we’re sliding back to what looks like another round of massive infighting, is a worthy effort in my eyes, despite the originator/creator of the idea.

  9. Kathleen Sweets Says:

    Thing thing that really gets me here…. What @ToddKincannon accuses me of is just that, ACCUSATIONS! If Todd was so sure I was doing any of what he accuses, he’d had PROOF! This all started cause I’ve got at least 50 pictures of him demanding his followers to spam block other tweeps! Whether these accounts are spam accounts or not, doesn’t give him the right to play #TwitterGod ! So everything our parents taught us (at least mine) about right and wrong, and two wrongs don’t make a right, all goes down the drain cause the almighty Todd says so! I called him out on this with pictures and all next thing I know hes having his followers spam block me! Not cool and I’m not going to put up with it! For those of you who feel the need to block someone, do so! No need to SPAM BLOCK 100 TIMES! Thats called being a PUSSY! Todd has that title for himself!

    • Exactly why I won’t be joining his clique. He spamblocked me in defense of his buddy Stevie West who’s as big a fraud as he is. A month from now this latest attempt at organizing will be long since forgotten, mostly because Twitter slacktivists are notoriously lazy when any hint of personal effort comes into play.

      Kincannon’s only hoping to score phone numbers. Where the hell was he last year when we were getting gulaged left and right? See The Trenches expose on Kincannon scamming the digits for sexting purposes on Twitter. He’s a professional bullshitter, aka lawyer. There are several tweets on his TL right now calling for spamblocking. If you’re looking to be led by someone, consider following Christ and leave the Twitter trolls to their own devices.

  10. Kathleen Sweets Says:

    Few Things I would like to add.
    First: Forget the current situation. Pretend I am your mother, sister, daughter or whatever. I am on trial for murder. The prosecution says that I did it. No doubt. The defense presents all this evidence saying I didn’t do it. (including pictures and testimony of others) The prosecution doesn’t have any evidence what so ever!! Just 35,000 ppl behind him. Which none of these ppl have asked for any evidence, just going by prosecution’s word.
    Question: Would you want your sibling hung without any evidence????

    Second: I am baffled that Americans do what the majority wants them to do. They don’t investigate for themselves. Isn’t anybody out there an individual anymore???? After all that is how God made us.. INDIVIDUALS!!

    If someone came to me and said so and so is doing this! I wouldn’t take their word on it. I would want to investigate and find out for myself with proof.

    One other thing I would like you to think about.
    What does Conservative mean…..

    Conserving our principles, morals and beliefs!! Conserving our rights thru the Constitution of the U.S.

    None of the ppl have come to me to hear my side or see my proof. In my eyes this is not a TRUE CONSERVATIVE!
    You are using the beliefs of someone else and not your own!!!

    Oh and one other thing… PRIME EXAMPLE of ppl doing what the majority wants them to do.. Our latest election!!! #FAIL

  11. [...] What is #TGDN ? « Foolish Reporter’s Foolish Thoughts on the Foolish State of Things – RT @ToddKincannon: Hey #TGDN, read this please! RT @FoolishReporter [...]

  12. I love watching Todd & Kathleen go at it. Seriously, that’s some of the most entertaining stuff on the net… Well, next to boobs, and more boobs. And then some more boobs.

  13. Truth Seeker Says:

    It’s like Christian mingle dot com. Ultimately no way to know who is joining.

    It’s more to massage Todd’s rather large ego than anything else.

  14. [...] out how it started and how it works by viewing the Twitchy post and @FoolishReporter wrote a great blog post describing how #TGDN can help thwart one of these Twitter [...]

  15. Reblogged this on @BodiazRising and commented:
    Yours truly is in the TGDN9 list.

  16. radio stations…

    [...]What is #TGDN ? « Foolish Reporter's Foolish Thoughts on the Foolish State of Things[...]…

  17. RightWingTips Says:

    I don’t know much about TGDN but I am really conservative. I’m thinking about joining it because most of the major conservative public figures are there so I think there is some truth to the gulag. I noticed that a liberal I was debating with about how crazy Piers Morgan is had her account suspended in the middle of the thread. Another thing that weighs heavily against this article is my follower/following ratio is heavily disproportionate and my account has not been suspended because of that or how I tweet. Imagine that! I do a Google search for TGDN and one of the first things I come across is a liberal “think” tank about the TGDN conspiracy and how the gulag is just paranoia and one man’s megalomaniacal brainchild. Also, if a computer is automatically able to call the shots about whether an account is spam of not, why is this Kincannon guy telling his pals to “spam-wedgie” other people and wouldn’t MANY other people be getting their accounts suspended because of how they tweet? I don’t have a lot of facts here but I’m pretty sure this writer is dealing with less.

  18. I DO NOT USE HASH TAGS IF YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT SIDE I AM ON BY MY TWEETS OH WELL! WHEN I GET SENT A LIST OF NEW FOLLOWERS I LOOK AT COMPLETE PROFILE CAREFULLY IF THEY SPAM, TALK ABOUT THEMSELVES ,DOG ,CAT, OTHER PEOPLE FOOTBALL, SPORTS ETC. THEN THEY CAN JOIN A GROUP THAT DOES THAT. I BLOCK ALL LIBS THAT ANSWER ME WITH NEGATIVE TWEETS OR INSULTS I HAVEN’T GOT TIME TO ARGUE WITH IDIOTS. IF YOU DON’T LIKE MY TWEETS IT IS YOUR RIGHT TO BLOCK OR NOT FOLLOW. I DISLIKE PEOPLE THAT TWEET ALL DAY HOW MANY FOLLOWERS THEY PICKED UP WHO CARES? IT IS ALL THE SUDDEN A CONTEST? I TRY TO MAKE MY TWEETS INFORMATIVE AND/OR HUMOROUS . DIFFERENT INTEREST FOR DIFFERENT FOLKS. I HAVE NEVER BEEN SUSPENDED AND DON’T FOLLOW THE CROWD. STAY INDEPENDENT AND BE CAREFUL WHO YOU PICK . “BIRDS OF A FEATHER FLOCK TOGETHER. ALL ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR OWN TWEETS & FOLLOWERS & WHO YOU CHOSE TO FOLLOW. IF YOU ASK FOR TROUBLE IT WILL FIND YOU

  19. Don Borden Says:

    I am a conservative who is ashamed to have Todd “represent” me. I will not be joining his cult as he is vulgar and obsessed with “bi-curious coeds”, calling his followers “MILFs”, and generally sexualizing many women he corresponds with. He’s never denied the “sexting” allegations as there are Tweet screen shots that prove it true.
    I’m finding that others of his same mindset join that group…many of them other men who enjoy the sexual banter.
    I think he gives us conservatives a bad name and has turned many people into sheep.
    If he were a more morally upstanding person who walked the talk of free speech and inclusion, I may have a different opinion. To me, he’s nothing but an embarrassment to our party. I distance myself from him as I don’t want any of his slimey character to be affiliated with my account. I have a wife and daughter and don’t appreciate his twisted comments about women.

  20. well I dunno what to think about this spam blocking business, but thanks for clearing up my confusion. I don’t get on teh twitterz often, and this new hashtag was sure a mystery.

  21. […] A new hashtag was born today on twitter : #TGDN. It stands for Twitter Gulag Defense Network and is the brainchild of twitter user @ToddKincannon. TGDN is a response to the speech-silencing efforts of any who happen to know about the suspension algorithm exploit that exists on Twitter. For those unfamiliar with Twitter Gulag, it’s essentially a way people discovered to suspend accounts by tricking Twitter’s systems into thinking live profiles are actually spambot profiles. More at What is #TGDN ? […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,666 other followers

